Sacro Monte was planned by Costantino Massino in 1589. The original project consisted of 15 chapels, the Rosary Misteries. During the centuries works took place. Now the complex consists of 23 chapels and 5 hermitages.
Between the end of 16th and the beginning of 17th centuries many sculptors and artists shaped the statuary groups (in polychrome terracotta) and the pictures which visitors can see in the chapels. Among these artists: Guglielmo Caccia (the Moncalvo) Giovanni and Nicola Wespin (the Tabachetti), G. B. della Rovere (the Fiamminghino) Giorgio Alberini, Veglia d'Asti and the Prestinari. During the Napoleonic period the complex was abandoned; afterwards, in 19th century, it was restored and the chapels were built again. Bistolfi, Brilla, Maggi, Latini, Morgari, Capra and Caironi took part in the works (Works lasted till the beginning of 20th century).
The Sacro Monte stands in front of the Sanctuary. It is surrounded from a shady boulevard which starts and ends in the square. It goes then through the wood on an easy path (the handicapped can go along it since architectural features have been knocked down). By following the system of signs in the park it is possible to reach Cappella del Paradiso.
Province: Alessandria Region: Piedmont