Versione Italiana
The Italian Park Portal

Parks, Reserves, and Other Protected Areas in the


Dependencies or Areas of Special Sovereignty

The Netherlands

National Parks

  • De Alde Feanen (www)
  • De Biesbosch (www)
  • De Groote Peel (www)
  • De Maasduinen (www)
  • De Meinweg (www)
  • De Sallandse Heuvelrug (www)
  • De Weerribben (www)
  • Drentsche AA (www)
  • Drents-Friese Wold (www)
  • Duinen van Texel (www)
  • Dwingelderveld (www)
  • Grenspark De Zoom-Kalmthoutse Heide (www)
  • Hoge Veluwe (www)
  • Lauwersmeer (www)
  • Loonse en Drunense Duinen (www)
  • Oosterschelde (www)
  • Schiermonnikoog (www)
  • Utrechtse Heuvelrug (www)
  • Veluwezoom (www)
  • Zuid-Kennemerland (www)
Protected Areas in the Netherlands
There are twenty National Parks in the Netherlands. The two oldest parks, Hoge Veluwe and Veluwezoom, were founded by private parties. Successive ministers for Agriculture, Nature and Food Quality have established the remaining eighteen parks over the last twenty-five years.
National Parks are areas of exceptional or outstanding natural value. A National Park must have an area of at least one thousand hectares. Policymakers treat the National Parks as a single unit, referring to it as the system of National Parks in the Netherlands. Landowners, site managers and other stakeholders are jointly responsible for the conservation and development of the quality of these nature areas.
The National Parks were established with four main objectives in mind:
- The protection and development of nature and the landscape;
- Outdoor recreation;
- Education and extension;
- Research.

National Parks invariably have beautiful landscapes, which harbour a wealth of rare or unusual plants and animals. The system of National Parks preserves a wide range of landscapes characteristic to the Netherlands. Naturally, each park has its own specific animal population, among them rare bird species, deer, badgers, beavers, otters and seals.

Source: National Parks in the Netherlands

Netherlands Antilles

National Parks

  • Boven (www)
  • Quill (www)
  • Saba (www)
  • Washington Slagbaai (www)

Nature Parks

  • Christoffel
  • Shete Boka

Marine Protected Areas

  • Bonaire (www)
  • Saba (www)
  • St. Maarten
  • Statia (www)

Underwater Parks

  • Curaçao (www)

Botanic Gardens

  • Miriam C. Schmidt (www)
Protected Areas in the Netherlands Antilles
The department of Environment and Nature (MINA) is part of the Ministry of Public Health and Social Development of the Netherlands Antilles. As a department of the central (or federal) government encompassing all five islands of the Netherlands Antilles, MINA’s tasks are set out in the Netherlands Antilles Island Regulation (ERNA, 1998, art. 2.e.10) as follows: “environmental and nature management and conservation as they derive from treaties”.

Source: Department of Environment & Nature (MINA) - Ministry of Public Health & Social Development