Versione Italiana
The Italian Park Portal

Parks, Reserves, and Other Protected Areas in



National Parks

  • Abisko
  • Ängsö
  • Björnlandet
  • Blå Jungfrun
  • Dalby Söderskog
  • Djurö
  • Färnebofjärden (www)
  • Fulufjället
  • Garphyttan
  • Gotska Sandön (www)
  • Hamra
  • Haparanda Skärgård
  • Muddus
  • Norra Kvill
  • Padjelanta
  • Pieljekaise
  • Sånfjället
  • Sarek
  • Skuleskogen
  • Söderåsens (www)
  • Stenshuvud (www)
  • Stora Sjöfallet
  • Store Mosse
  • Tiveden
  • Töfsingdalen
  • Tresticklan
  • Tyresta (www)
  • Vadvetjåkka
Protected Areas in Sweden
Sweden was the first country in Europe to create National Parks, the first nine of which were founded in 1909.
The basic idea of national parks is to preserve parts of the national cultural heritage for future generations. According to Swedish law, the national parks are to be representative biotopes which are preserved in their natural state, but also beautiful unique environments which have experiences to offer.
The Environmental Protection Agency, or Naturvårdsverket, decides on the management of Sweden's national parks and suggests new parks. The decision to found a park is made by Parliament.
Mountain environment covers almost 90% of the surface of the parks. Other biotopes in the national parks are virgin forest, deciduous forest, swamps, archipelago and old agricultural landscapes.
Apart from its 28 national parks, Sweden has a large number of different protected areas: 2,378 Nature Reserves, 54 Culture Reserves, 141 Nature Management Areas and 1,040 Wildlife sanctuaries.
A total of just over 8% of Sweden's territory is thus protected in one way or another.

Sources: Swedish Environmental Protection Agency, Statistics Sweden (2002)