Water and History
Via Castelpietra, 2 - Loc. Val Canali
38054 Tonadico (TN)
Municipality: Primiero San Martino di Castrozza
Region: Trentino Alto AdigeTel.
The villa, which was built in 1853, is situated near the small lake of the same name and it was the dwelling of the Welsperg Counts. The villa has been renovated and since 1996 it has become the Park Authority's head office, where the administrative and technical offices and the Visitor Center are situated. The villa's Visitor Center has been completely renovated.
The new look originates an "experience situation" where it is possible to absorb the peculiarities and the essential features of each geographical sector of the Park.
It is only by chance that the organization of the spaces on the ground floor of Villa Welsperg has an extraordinary topographical similarity - a kind of analogy - with the Park's real territorial development. So they thought to divide the exhibition area into six ideal rooms. The first is dedicated to the Park and to the sense-value of biodiversity. The other five rooms represent a sort of portrait of the great Park's sectors: from the Val Canali one reaches the Pale Upland, then goes down to the Paneveggio forest and up again up to the Lagorai ridge, and finally down to Vanoi.
In other words, the ring-route one follows within the rooms of Villa Welsperg resembles a real journey through the real territory.
Walking in these rooms, along this trail, is like moving through the shapes and complexity of the Park. The distance and the differences existing between Val Canali and Paneveggio can be perceived with one's whole body, moving from a room to the other, following a stylized but plausible distribution of the real places.