Versione Italiana
The Italian Park Portal

Parks, Reserves, and Other Protected Areas in

Brunei Darussalam

Brunei Darussalam

National Parks

  • Tasek Merimbun
  • Tasek Merimbun Extension
  • Ulu Temburong

Nature Reserves

  • Luagan Kandol
  • Pulau Baru-Baru
  • Pulau Berambang

Wildlife Sanctuaries

  • Louisa Reef
  • Pelong Rocks
  • Pulau Punyut
Protected Areas in Brunei Darussalam
Department of Environment, Parks, and Recreation (JASTRE)
The Environment Unit was established under the Ministry of Development in 1993 to serve as the Secretariat to the National Committee on the Environment and coordinate matters relating to the environment in Brunei Darussalam.

JASTRE aspires to be an institution of excellence in environmental management that will continuously strive towards making Brunei Darussalam beautiful, clean and environmentally sustainable.

The Department shall endeavour to protect and conserve the environment so as to sustain a good environmental quality that will enhance the people’s quality of life and well being and promote the nation’s economic progress and prosperity:

  • protecting and conserving the environment against pollution and degradation;
  • managing the development of landscape, parks and recreation areas;
  • managing wastes in an environmentally sound manner;
  • collaborating and cooperating in environment at a bilateral, regional and international level.

Source: Department of Environment, Parks, and Recreation; World Database on Protected Areas (WCPA)