Versione Italiana
The Italian Park Portal

Parks, Reserves, and Other Protected Areas in



Biosphere Reserves

  • Belovezhskaya Pushcha (www)
  • Berezinsky

National Parks

  • Belovezhskaya Pushcha (www)
  • Braslavskie Ozera
  • Narochanski (www)
  • Pripyatski

Partial Protection Areas

  • Dnepro-Sozhsky
  • Kozjanski
  • Narochanskie Ozera
  • Ostrova Duleby
  • Osveiski
  • Sporovsky
  • Strelsky

Protected Landscape Areas

  • Srednyaya Pripyat

UNESCO World Heritage Sites

  • Belovezhskaya Pushcha (www)
Protected Areas in Belarus
On 1st January 2001 the protected areas of the Republic of Belarus were the Biosphere Reserve Berezinsky, four National Parks (Belovezhskaya Pushcha, Braslav Lakes, Pripyatski and Narochanski), 552 Partial Protection Areas and 881 Nature Sanctuaries. The protected areas belonging to the last two categories are divided into areas of national and local importance.
The Partial Protection Areas of national importance are 94, while those of local importance are 458; the Nature Sanctuaries of national importance are 333 and those of local importance are 548, for a total of 1,438 protected areas.

The protected areas system is particularly developed in the Regions of Brest, Vitebsk and Grodno (covering respectively the 12.9%, 8.5%, and 8.0% of the territory). In the Mogilev Region the protected areas cover about 107 thousand hectares, the 3.7% of the territory.

In the list, we mention only some of the most significant areas.

Source: Ministry of Natural Resources and Environmental Protection of the Republic of Belarus