Versione Italiana
The Italian Park Portal

Parks, Reserves, and Other Protected Areas in the

Democratic Republic of the Congo

Democratic Republic of the Congo

National Parks

  • Garamba
  • Kahuzi-Biega
  • Kundelungu
  • Maïko
  • Salonga
  • Upemba
  • Virunga

Marine Parks

  • Parc Marin des Mangroves

Wildlife Reserves

  • Réserve à Okapi

Hunting Reserves

  • Bili-Uéré
  • Azande
  • Gangala-na-Bodio
  • Mondo-Missa
  • Swa-Kibula
  • Mangai
  • Bombo Lumene
  • Lwama
  • Bushimaie
  • Maika-Penge
  • N'Sele

Wetlands of International Importance (Ramsar)

  • Parc Marin des Mangroves
  • Virunga National Park

World Heritage Convention

  • Garamba National Park
  • Kahuzi-Biega National Park
  • Salonga National Park
  • Virunga National Park
  • Réserve à Okapi
Protected Areas in the Democratic Republic of the Congo
The Protected Areas of the Democratic Republic of the Congo (RDC) are managed by the Congolese Institute for the Conservation of Nature (Institut congolais pour la Conservation de la Nature) and include seven National Parks, Reserves and Hunting Reserves, for a total of 200,000 Such areas represent about the 8% of the territory of the whole Country, whose nature conservation policy aims at transforming the 15% of the national territory into Protected Areas.
According to the law, National Parks enjoy an integral protection, while Reserves enjoy a partial protection: as a matter of fact, human activities are allowed within them, even if always respecting the ecological balance.
The Congolese Protected Areas must face five main problems: the lack and ageing of the staff, the occupation and presence of armed groups, the existence of a double management, the lack of equipment, and the recrudescence of poaching.

Source: Institut Congolais pour la Conservation de la Nature