Versione Italiana
The Italian Park Portal

Parks, Reserves, and Other Protected Areas in



National Parks

The Coastal Parks

  • Parc National d'El Kala (Wilaya d’El Tarf)
  • Parc National de Gouraya (Wilaya de Bejaia)
  • Parc National de Taza (Wilaya de Jijel)

The Parks of the Mountain Areas

  • Parc National de Théniet El Had (Wilaya de Tissemsilt)
  • Parc National du Djurdjura (Wilaya de Tizi Ouzou et Bouira)
  • Parc National de Chréa (Wilaya de Blida)
  • Parc National de Belezma (Wilaya de Batna)
  • Parc National de Tlemcen (Wilaya de Tlemcen)

The Parks of the Steppe

  • Parc National de Djebel Aissa (Wilaya de Naama)

The Parks of Sahara

  • Parc National du Tassili (Wilaya d’Illizi)
  • Parc National de l'Ahaggar (Wilaya de Tamanrasset)

Nature Reserves

  • Réserve naturelle de la Macta (Wilaya de Mostaganem, Oran et Mascara)
  • Réserve naturelle de Mergueb (Wilaya de M’sila)
  • Réserve naturelle des Beni-salah (Wilaya de Guelma)
  • Réserve naturelle des Babors (Wilaya de Sétif)
  • Réserve naturelle marine des Iles Habibas (Wilaya d’Oran)

Wetlands of International Importance (Ramsar Sites)

  • Lac Tonga (Wilaya d’El Tarf)
  • Lac Oubeira (Wilaya d’El Tarf)
  • Lac des Oiseaux (Wilaya d’El Tarf)
  • Chott Ech Chergui (Wilaya de Saida, Naama et El Bayadh)
  • Guerbes (Wilaya de Skikda)
  • Chott El Hodna (Wilaya de M’sila et Batna)
  • Vallée d’Iherir (Wilaya d’Illizi)
  • Gueltates d’Issikarassene (Wilaya de Tamanrasset)
  • Chott Merouarne et Oued Khrouf (Wilaya d’El Oued et Biskra)
  • Marais de la Macta (Wilaya de Mostaganem, Oran et Mascara)
  • Oasis de Ouled Said (Wilaya d’Adrar)
  • Sebkha d’Oran (Wilaya d’Oran)
  • Oasis de Tamentit et Sid Ahmed Timmi (Wilaya d’Adrar)
  • Oasis de Moghrar et Tiout (Wilaya de Naama)
  • Zehrez Chergui (Wilaya de Djelfa)
  • Zehrez Gharbi (Wilaya de Djelfa)
  • Gueltates d’Affilal (Wilaya de Tamanrasset)
  • Grotte de Ghar Boumâaza (Wilaya de Tlemcen)
  • Marais de la Mekhada (Wilaya d’El Tarf)
  • Chott Melghir (Wilaya d’El Oued et Biskra)
  • Lac de Réghaia (Wilaya d’Alger)
  • Lac Noir (Wilaya d’El Kala)
  • Aulnaies de Ain Khiar (Wilaya d’El Kala)
  • Lac de Béni Bélaid (Wilaya de Jijel)
  • Cirque de Ain Ouarka (Wilaya de Naama)
  • Lac de Fetzara (Wilaya de Annaba)
  • Sebkhet El Hamiet (Wilaya de Sétif)
  • Sebkhet Bazer (Wilaya de Sétif)
  • Chott El Beidha-Hammam Essoukhna (Wilaya de Sétif)
  • Garaet Annk Djemel-El Merhssel (Wilaya d’Oum El Bouaghi)
  • Garaet Guellif (Wilaya d’Oum El Bouaghi)
  • Chott Tinsilt (Wilaya d’Oum El Bouaghi)
  • Garaet el Taref (Wilaya d’Oum El Bouaghi)
  • Dayet El Ferd (Wilaya de Tlemcen)
  • Oglat Edaira (Wilaya de Naama)
  • Salines d’Arzew (Wilaya d’Oran)
  • Lac de Tellamine (Wilaya d’Oran)
  • Lac Mellah (Wilaya d’El Tarf)
  • Sebkhet El Meleh (Lac d’El Goléa) (Wilaya de Ghardaia)
  • Chott Oum Raneb (Wilaya de Ouargla)
  • Chott Sidi Slimane (Wilaya de Ouargla)
  • Chott Ain El Beida (Wilaya de Ouargla)

UNESCO-MAB Biosphere Reserves

  • Parc National de Chréa (Wilaya de Blida)
  • Parc National d’El Kala (Wilaya d’El Tarf)
  • Parc National de Djurdjura (Wilaya de Tizi Ouzou et Bouira)
  • Parc National du Tassili (Wilaya d’Illizi)
  • Parc National de Gouraya (Wilaya de Béjaia)
  • Parc National de Taza (Wilaya de Jijel)

Barcelona Convention (Specially Protected Areas of Mediterranean Interest)

  • Réserve marine du Banc des Kabyles (Wilaya de Jijel)
  • Réserve Marine des Iles Habibas (Wilaya d’Oran)
Protected Areas in Algeria
Thanks to the rich biodiversity characterizing it, Algeria is one of the most original Mediterranean Countries, matchless as far as bioclimate, morphology, flora, and wildlife are concerned.

Such ecological diversity generates a great richness in landscapes and natural environments of great quality, granting Algeria an extraordinary natural heritage.

The Algerial biodiversity represents one of the greatest ones in the Mediterranean basin, also thanks to the presence of very rare species like the Audouin's Gull, the Kabylie Nuthatch, the Monk Seal, and the Barbary red deer.

To protect its own national heritage, Algeria has established a network of protected areas enclosing unique ecosystems representing the biodiversity of the Country, according to what established by decree no. 03-10 of 19th July 2003, regarding the protection of the environment within sustainable development.

Sources: Direction de la Conservation de la Biodiversité - Ministère de l'Aménagement du Territoire et de l'Environnement - ALGERIE