Versione Italiana
The Italian Park Portal

Parks, Reserves, and Other Protected Areas in

Western Sahara

Western Sahara

National Parks

  • Dakhla
Protected Areas in Western Sahara
Given the difficult political situation, in Western Sahara current nature conservation legislation is covered under the same laws as for the whole of Morocco: namely Royal Edict (Dahir) on National Parks of 11 September 1934, individual ministerial nature reserve acts whereby each reserve is individually declared by Ministry of Agriculture and Agrarian Reform orders, and the Dahir on Hunting of 21 July 1923 (modified 30 June 1962) which governs hunting and hunting reserves.
Currently, according to the World Database on Protected Areas, there is only one National Park, Dakhla National Park.
Potential transboundary protected areas include one between this region and Banc d'Arguin National Park in Mauritania, both areas renowned for possessing the last major colonies of Mediterranean monk seal left in the world.

Sources: World Database on Protected Areas, UNEP-WCMC