Versione Italiana
The Italian Park Portal

Parks, Reserves, and Other Protected Areas in the

Libyan Arab Jamahiriya


National Parks

  • Abughilan
  • El Kauf
  • Karabolli
  • Kouf
  • Naggaza
  • Rajma
  • Sirman

Nature Reserves

  • Benghazi
  • Bier Ayyad
  • New Hiesha Natural Reserve
  • Tripoli
  • Zellaf

Protected Areas

  • Ain Zayanah
  • Ajdabiya Marsh
  • Al Jaghbub Oasis
  • Berjuj valley
  • Bombe gulf
  • Fezzan valleys
  • Garabulli
  • Giarabub
  • Grotto de Lete
  • Harouj mountain
  • Jalo
  • Kufrah Oasis
  • Nefhusa
  • Oasis of Ghat
  • Ouau en Namu lakes
  • Qaminis and Tukrah salines
  • Rajma plantations
  • Sabratha
  • Sebkha el Sahel
  • Serir
  • Shahaat
  • Taizerbo
  • Taoulga islands (Thaouara)
  • Wadi Kham

Other Areas

  • Belkarra-Boulelli

Wetlands of International Importance (Ramsar)

  • Ain Elshakika
  • Ain Elzarga

World Heritage Convention

  • Archaeological Site of Cyrene
  • Archaeological Site of Leptis Magna
  • Archaeological Site of Sabratha
  • Old Town of Ghadames
  • Rock-Art Sites of Tadrart Acacus
Protected Areas in the Libyan Arab Jamahiriya
The first conservation legislation came into existence in 1949, the Law on Forestry. The object was to give protection to forests and forest products, to soil, water sources and land under threat of desertification. Subsequently in 1970 the Law for the Protection of Agricultural Land introduced an ordinance on the protection of "green areas".
A specific agreement to set up the first national park was signed and a special decree enacted in November 1978. The national park system was established with specific guidelines for the creation of protected areas, in order to "create meaningful national parks for the Libyan people and international tourism". It also aimed to take positive measures to restore native wild animals in reserves where they have been exterminated.
The main body with jurisdiction of protected areas is the Technical Committee of Wildlife and National Parks which was created in 1990.

Sources: UNEP-WCMC