Versione Italiana
The Italian Park Portal

Parks, Reserves, and Other Protected Areas in



National Parks

  • Aguelman Azigza
  • Al Hoceima
  • Bou Tferda
  • Ifrane
  • Iriki
  • Iriqui
  • Parc de Haut Atlas Oriental
  • Souss-Massa
  • Talassantane
  • Tazekka
  • Tidhirine (Tidiquin)
  • Toubkal

Nature Parks

  • Ifrane
  • Talassemtane
  • Parc du Bas Drâa (potential)

Nature Reserves

  • Aguelmam Tifounassine
  • El Holba
  • El Merja (Sidi Moussa region)
  • Lac Ifni
  • Lac Iseli
  • Lac Tislit
  • Lacs des Moyen Atlas
  • Merja Daoura (Merja Sidi Mohammed Ben Mansour) NR
  • Nador
  • Oued Chebeika
  • Oued Loukkos
  • Oued Moulaya
  • Sebkhet Sidi Bou Areg
  • Sebkhet Zima
  • Sidi Moussa
  • Sidi Rahat

Marine Reserves

  • Bokkoyas


  • Ile d'Essaouira (Ile de Mogador)
  • Oualidia et Sidi Moussa
  • Oued M'ter
  • Reserve de Cerf Elaphe d'Espagne
  • Rio Martine lagoon
  • Sabkhet Bou Arg Lake
  • Tidhirine

Biological Reserves

  • Bokkoyas
  • Khnifiss/Puerto Cansado
  • Merja Zerga
  • Oued Massa
  • Sidi Boughaba

Botanical Reserves

  • La Dora
  • Talassantane

Forest Sanctuaries (Zakaznik)

  • Zemzem

Hunting Reserves

  • Aguelman Sidi Ali
  • Dayet Aaoua
  • Dayet Afougha
  • Dayet Agoulman
  • Dayet el Hachlef
  • Dayet Ifrah
  • Mouley Bousalham
  • Oualidia lagoon

Permanent Hunting Reserves

  • Affenourir
  • Bouarfa
  • Ile de Skhirate
  • Iriki
  • Sidi Boughaba
  • Sidi Chiker (M'Sabih Talaa)
  • Takherkhort

Private Reserves

  • Bouznika Royal HR
  • Merja Douyet Royal HR

Other Areas

  • Embouchure de l'Oued Massa

Wetlands of International Importance (Ramsar)

  • Baie de Khnifiss
  • Lac d'Afennourir
  • Merja Sidi Boughaba
  • Merja Zerga

World Heritage Convention

  • Archaeological Site of Volubilis
  • Historic City of Meknes
  • Ksar of Ait-Ben-Haddou
  • Medina of Essaouira (formerly Mogador)
  • Medina of Fez
  • Medina of Marrakesh
  • Medina of Tétouan (formerly known as Titawin)
  • Portuguese City of Mazagan (El Jadida)

UNESCO-MAB Biosphere Reserve

  • Arganeraie
  • Oasis de Sud Morocain

Barcelona Convention

  • Al Hoceima
Protected Areas in Morocco
Morocco has always been considered as a country with a huge and varied natural heritage and a precious biological diversity. Since the 30es, the country has been putting together laws on National Parks, thus enriching its body of legislation regarding the conservation and exploiting of forests. However, the national biological richness is increasingly threatened by social and economic development, by the reduction of forests, of wetlands and of natural ecosystems in general, and by the rapid extinction of numerous plant and animal species. In order to match the conservation of biodiversity with a rational exploitation of the resources, the Water and Forest Department has carried out a national study for “the establishment of a protected areas network and the elaboration of planning and managing strategies in the National Parks of Morocco”. The main definitions of protected areas include National Parks, Nature Parks, Natural Reserves and Biological Reserves.
National Parks are established by decree in regions of great naturalistic, biological, scientific or social interest, in order to preserve them in their original status and protect them against any threat. Inside National Parks all activities that may transform or damage nature are banned, including hunting and fishing, in order to protect and –if possible- contribute to restocking.

Sources: Centre d'Echange d'information sur la Biodiversité - CHM-MAROC, World Database on Protected Areas