Versione Italiana
The Italian Park Portal

Parks, Reserves, and Other Protected Areas in



National Parks

  • Black River Gorges

Marine Parks

  • Balaclava
  • Blue Bay/Le Chaland Marine Nature Reserve

Marine National Parks

  • Baie de l'Arsenal

Nature Reserves

  • Anse Quitor
  • Bois Sec
  • Cabinet
  • Coin de Mire (Gunner's Quoin)
  • Corps de Garde
  • Gouly Pere
  • Grande Montagne
  • Ile aux Aigrettes
  • Ile aux Cocos
  • Ile aux Sables
  • Ile aux Serpents
  • Ile Plate (Flat Island)
  • Ile Ronde (Round Island)
  • Ilot Gabriel
  • Ilot Marianne
  • Perrier
  • Pouce

Turtle Reserves

  • Fregate Island Turtle Reserve
  • Pearl Island Turtle Reserve

Fishing Reserves

  • Black River
  • Flacq
  • Grand Port - Mahebourg
  • Port Louis
  • Riviere du Rampart - Poudre d'Or
  • Trou d'Eau Douce Fir
Protected Areas in Mauritius
Mauritius has a wide range of animal species found nowhere upon earth. It is home to 25 species of indigenous land vertebrates. These endemic land vertebrates include mammals, birds, reptiles, insects and molluscs.
The National Parks and Conservation Service, within the Ministry of Agriculture is responsible for protected areas of the country.

National Parks and Conservation Service
The National Parks and Conservation Service (NPCS) is a governmental institution established on 9th May, 1994 under the "Wildlife and National Parks Act" of 1993.
The mission statement of NPCS is to ensure a Sustainable Management and Restoration of Native Terrestrial Mauritian Fauna and Flora so as to retain its genetic biodiversity for future generations through in-situ and ex-situ conservation, ecosystem restoration, public awareness, promotion of ecotourism and implementation of international biodiversity agreements.

Sources: World Database of Protected Areas, Republic of Mauritius; Ministry of Environment and National Development Unit