Versione Italiana
The Italian Park Portal

Parks, Reserves, and Other Protected Areas in



Proposed Transfrontier Park

  • Malawi - Zambia Transfrontier Park

National Parks

  • Kasungu
  • Lake Malawi
  • Lengwe
  • Liwonde
  • Nyika

Wildlife Reserves

  • Majete
  • Mwabvi
  • Nkhota-Kota
  • Vwaza Marsh

Wetlands of International Importance (Ramsar)

  • Lake Chilwa

World Heritage Convention

  • Lake Malawi National Park

UNESCO-MAB Biosphere Reserves

  • Mount Mulanje

Cloud Forest Sites

  • Dedza Mountain
  • Mulanje Mountain
  • Nyika Plateau
Protected Areas in Malawi
All national parks and game reserves are under government control and there are no private land users within them.
Besides the protected areas listed on this page, in Malawi there are also 209 Forest reserves.
The Department of National Parks and Wildlife (DNPW) within the Ministry of Tourism is responsible for the conservation and management of wildlife resources. The DNPW's activities are mainly concentrated in national parks and wildlife reserves. It collaborates with other stakeholders (local communities, the private sector, NGOs) to manage resources on other land.
At the international level, Malawi is party to the Convention Concerning the Protection of the World Cultural and Natural Heritage (World Heritage Convention) which it ratified on 5 January 1982, to the Ramsar Convention and to the UNESCO Man and Biosphere (MAB) Programme.

Transfrontier Parks
The Parks marked with the logo are Malawi's areas within Transfrontier Parks or Transfrontier Conservation Areas.
The final treaty between Malawi and Zambia will consolidate into conservation areas the Nyika Plateau on both sides of the border, Malawi`s Vwaza Marsh Wildlife Reserve and Kasungu National Park with Zambia`s Lundazi, Mitenge and Mikuti Forest Reserves, Musa-langu Game Management Area and Lukusuzi National Park.

Sources: World Database of Protected Areas, Malawi's Government - Department of Parks and Wildlife; Peace Parks Foundation