Versione Italiana
The Italian Park Portal

Parks, Reserves, and Other Protected Areas in



National Parks

  • Bardia (www)
  • Chitwan (www)
  • Khaptad (www)
  • Langtang (www)
  • Makalu Barun (www)
  • Rara(www)
  • Sagarmatha(www)
  • Shey Phoksundo (www)
  • Shivapuri(www)

Wildlife Reserves

  • Koshi Tappu (www)
  • Parsa(www)
  • Sukla Phanta(www)

Hunting Reserves

  • Dhorpatan (www)

Conservation Areas

  • Annapurna (www)
  • Kanchenjunga(www)
  • Manaslu (www)
Protected Areas in Nepal
Protected area management in Nepal received a real thrust in the 1970s. Not only protected areas came to be added, but also action on both their protection and conservation was intensified.
The first organized approach to managing protected areas in Nepal dates back to the year 1973 by establishing Chitwan National Park.
Now, the protected areas in Nepal include nine national parks, three wildlife reserves, one hunting reserve and three conservation areas and eleven buffer zones covering an area of 28,998.67 sq. km that is 19.70% of the total area of the country.

Source: Department of National Parks and Wildlife Conservation