Versione Italiana
The Italian Park Portal

Parks, Reserves, and Other Protected Areas in



National Parks

  • Fazao-Malfakassa
  • Fosse aux Lions
  • Kéran

Wildlife Reserves

  • Abdoulaye
  • Akaba
  • Alédjo
  • Djamdè
  • Galangashie
  • Haho-Yoto
  • Kpessi
  • Oti-Mandouri
  • Sirka
  • Togodo

Other Areas

  • Kamassi NR

Wetlands of International Importance (Ramsar)

  • Parc national de la Keran
  • Reserve de faune de Togodo

World Heritage Convention

  • Koutammakou, the Land of the Batammariba
Protected Areas in Togo
All protected areas in Togo are being reassessed, hence all current relevant information can only be considered provisionary. Previously the interests of local people had not been taken sufficiently into account, so all available data on protected areas is being reviewed, with the aim of redefining limits and management objectives. Exterior assistance, both financial and technical is needed to achieve this.
Currently, the Department of Forests, Hunting and the Environment (Direction des Forêts, des Chasses et de l'Environnement) within the Ministry of Environment and Tourism (Ministère de l'Environnement et du Tourisme) is responsible for administration and management of national parks and faunal reserves.

National Parks
Togo has three national parks, ten faunal reserves and 84 forest reserves. These protected areas represent most major habitat types, except lowland rain forest which is already very depleted. The two large national parks are representative of the two principal ecosystems in the country: Keran National Park comprising Sudanian savanna, whereas Fazao-Malfakasa includes Mont Togo, and is the only west African park representative of a semi-mountainous tropical humid ecosystem.

Sources: UNEP-WCMC, WCPA - World Database of Protected Areas, National Togolese Tourism Office