Versione Italiana
The Italian Park Portal

Parks, Reserves, and Other Protected Areas in



National Parks

  • Bwindi Impenetrable Forest (www)
  • Kibale (www)
  • Kidepo Valley (www)
  • Lake Mburo (www)
  • Mgahinga Gorilla (www)
  • Mount Elgon (www)
  • Murchison Falls (www)
  • Queen Elizabeth (www)
  • Rwenzori Mountains (www)
  • Semuliki (www)

Nature Reserves

  • Ajai (www)
  • East Madi (www)
  • Kabwoya (www)
  • Katonga (www)
  • Matheniko-Bokora (www)
  • Pian-Upe (www)
  • Toro-Semuliki (www)
Protected Areas in Uganda
The Uganda Wildlife Authority (UWA) was established in August 1996 by the Uganda Wildlife Statute, which merged the Uganda National Parks and the Game Department. It is governed by a Board of Trustees appointed by minister responsible for wildlife.
UWA is in charge of management of 10 National Parks, 12 Wildlife Reserves, 14 Wildlife Sanctuaries and provides guidance for 5 Community Wildlife Areas.

The National Parks
The national parks were created out of well-managed and developed game reserves. Two national parks were established prior to independence, while the first game reserve, Toro Game Reserve, was established in 1924. The remaining game reserves were created mostly in the 1960s. Wildlife sector reserves, including national parks, game reserves, game sanctuaries and controlled hunting areas cover around 20% of the total area. Unfortunately, game sanctuaries and controlled hunting areas have provided only limited wildlife and habitat protection.

A conservation project is currently taking place (www) in the Budongo Game Reserve.

Sources: Uganda Wildlife Authority; Budongo Forest Project