Versione Italiana
The Italian Park Portal

Parks, Reserves, and Other Protected Areas in

South Africa

South Africa

Transfrontier Parks

  • Ai-Ais/Richtersveld Transfrontier Park (www)
  • Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park (www)
  • Limpopo/Shashe Transfrontier Conservation Areas (www)
  • Great Limpopo Transfrontier Park (www)

Proposed Transfrontier Park

  • Lubombo Transfrontier Conservation and Resource Area

National Parks

  • Addo Elephant National Park
  • Agulhas National Park (www)
  • Augrabies Falls National Park (www)
  • Bontebok National Park (www)
  • Camdeboo National Park (www)
  • Golden Gate Highlands National Park (www)
  • Karoo National Park (www)
  • Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park (www)
  • Knysna National Lake Area (www)
  • Kruger National Park (www)
  • Mapunqubwe National Park (www)
  • Marakele National Park (www)
  • Mountain Zebra National Park (www)
  • Namaqua National Park (www)
  • Richtersveld National Park (www)
  • Table Mountain National Park (www)
  • Tankwa Karoo National Park (www)
  • Tsitsikamma National Park (www)
  • Vaalbos National Park (www)
  • West Coast National Park (www)
  • Wilderness National Park (www)
Protected Areas in South Africa
SANParks used to be known before 1997 as the National Parks Board, and is the organisation responsible for managing and conserving this spectrum of nature’s finest treasures. The parks represent some of South Africa’s most important eco-tourism destinations and SANParks is one of the world’s leading conservation and scientific research bodies and a leading proponent of maintaining the indigenous natural environment.

Transfrontier Parks
The Parks marked with the logo are the South African areas within Transfrontier Parks or Transfrontier Conservation Areas. SANParks is responsible for their implementation. They are:

- Ai-Ais/Richtersveld Transfrontier Park (Namibia and South Africa)
- Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park (Botswana and South Africa)
- Limpopo/Shashe Transfrontier Conservation Areas (Botswana, South Africa and Zimbabwe)
- Great Limpopo Transfrontier Park (Mozambique, South Africa and Zimbabwe)
In addition SANParks is involved, together with Ezemvelo KZN Wildlife, as a partner in the Maloti-Drakensberg Transfrontier Conservation and Development Area (Lesotho and South Africa).

Proposed Transfrontier Park

A number of protocols between the relevant countries have been signed. The most important of these being the Lubombo Transfrontier Trilateral Protocol, which was signed between Mozambique, South Africa and Swaziland on 22 June 2000.

Source: South African National Parks - SANParks Official Website, Peace Parks Foundation