Versione Italiana
The Italian Park Portal

Parks, Reserves, and Other Protected Areas in



Transfrontier Parks

  • Great Limpopo Transfrontier Park (www)
  • Limpopo/Shashe Transfrontier Conservation Areas

National Parks

  • Chimanimani (www)
  • Chizarira (www)
  • Gonarezhou (www)
  • Hwange (www)
  • Kazuma pan (www)
  • Mana pools (www)
  • Matobo (www)
  • Matusadona (www)
  • Nyanga (www)
  • Victoria falls & Zambesi (www)

Recreational Parks

  • Chinhoyi Caves (www)
  • Cunningham (www)
  • Darwendale (www)
  • Kyle (www)
  • Lake Chivero (www)
  • Lake Kariba (www)
  • Matobo Dam (www)
  • Ngezi (www)
  • Osborne Dam (www)
  • Sebakwe (www)
  • Umzingwane (www)

Botanical Gardens & Reserves

  • Bunga Forest (www)
  • Ewanrigg (www)
  • Haroni / Rusitu (www)
  • Vumba (www)

Safari Areas

  • Chete
  • Chirisa
  • Matetsi
  • Tuli


  • Eland
  • Mushandike (www)
  • Tshabalala
Protected Areas in Zimbabwe
The Zimbabwe Parks & Wildlife Management Authority operates under an Act of Parliament, the Parks and Wildlife Act of 1975.

National Parks: These are areas managed and run by the Authority and provide visitors with leisure and accommodation facilities such as lodges, chalets, cottages, caravan sites, camping sites and picnic areas. No hunting is allowed in the National Parks as the Authority endeavors to preserve the pristine and original nature of these areas. Zimbabwe has eleven National Parks, each of which offers vastly contrasting and fulfilling wilderness experiences. The Parks are located around the country and the visitor can look forward to a wide variety of scenic, cultural and wildlife activities.
Recreational Parks: Recreational Parks are always located and centred on and around national lakes, dams or water bodies. The Authority is mandated with the managing of the country's aquatic life, flora and fauna within the parks as well as to monitor the impact of recreational activities on the environment.
Botanical Gardens & Reserves: Botanic Gardens are areas where indigenous and exotic plant species are protected and propagated.
Safari Areas: Controlled hunting is permitted in some areas of the Parks and Wildlife Estate. Hunting is controlled through a comprehensive quota system that allows for sustainable and non-destructive hunting. These areas are separate from Recreational Parks, National Parks and Sanctuaries, thereby reducing conflicting resource usage.
Sanctuaries: Sanctuaries are areas that act as reservoirs of animal species that are threatened with extinction therefore require safe breeding habitats.

Transfrontier Parks
The Parks marked with the logo are the Zimbabwe areas within Transfrontier Parks or Transfrontier Conservation Areas. They are:
- Limpopo/Shashe Transfrontier Conservation Areas (Botswana, South Africa and Zimbabwe)
- Great Limpopo Transfrontier Park (Mozambique, South Africa and Zimbabwe).

Sources: Zimbabwe Parks and Wildlife Management Authority, Peace Parks Foundation