Parks, Reserves and other protected areas in the

United Kingdom

Interactive Map
  • High way (Lake District national park)

The designation of protected areas in the UK was made possible by the 1949 National Parks and Access to the Countryside Act. The Act set out how land could be designated as:

  • National Parks
  • Areas of Outstanding Natural Beauty - in England, Northern Ireland and Wales
  • National Scenic Areas, which are the equivalent for Scotland to the Areas of Outstanding Beauty
  • National nature reserves
  • Sites of Special Scientific Interest

Read more

National parks

 Cairngorms National Park452.800 ha
 Lake District national park229.200 ha
 New Forest National Park5.665.100 ha
 Peak District national park143.800 ha
 South Downs National Park164.800 ha
 Brecon Beacons National Park134.680 ha
 Broads national park30.300 ha
 Dartmoor National Park95.400 ha
 Exmoor National Park69.280 ha
 Loch Lomond and the Trossachs national park186.500 ha
 North York Moors National Park143.600 ha
 Northumberland National Park104.900 ha
 Pembrokeshire Coast National Park62.900 ha
 Snowdonia National Park213.157 ha
 Yorkshire Dales National Park176.200 ha

The photo next to the name of the protected area means that you will find information directly updated by the respective Park Authorities.
National Banner to directly talk to the enthusiasts of the Italian parks
© 2024 -